Moses, illustrated by Kadir Nelson

Moses, illustrated by Kadir Nelson

From “Speaking Out,” Nikki Grimes’ article in The Horn Book:

I’ve met a good many people who have served on Caldecott committees over the years, all lovely men and women, to be sure. A few of them I’ve even had the pleasure to call friends. I appreciate their tireless service to the children’s book community. But I have one burning question for Caldecott committees, past and present: if this nation can manage to put a black man in the Oval Office, why can’t the Caldecott committee see its way clear to give the Caldecott medal to an individual artist of African descent?

Read the rest of the article here.

Someone sent out this link on Child_Lit and asked for thoughts. I had read it already, a couple days ago, when it was posted on someone’s blog. My response to the Child_Litter was:

I was very sad that Moses did not win the Caldecott Award in 2007, and although I love Henry’s Freedom Box, I’m a little more understanding of Hugo Cabret’s win in 2008.

Related, I wish Laurence Yep had won the Newbery award for Dragowings. I also feel it’s “time” but the tricky thing is that we don’t want to award them because it’s “time” but because their work for that year is truly deserving (which, I think, Moses was.)

I’m looking forward to hearing other people’s responses to this article.

